color: introduce support for colorizing stderr
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Sat, 21 Apr 2018 10:09:57 +0000 (12:09 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 24 Apr 2018 01:38:47 +0000 (10:38 +0900)
commit295d949cfabc18fb588f269c77d1f8ff4a613686
tree37438ad35b11bac18f386445f6571696fcf355ae
parentfe0a9eaf31dd0c349ae4308498c33a5c3794b293
color: introduce support for colorizing stderr

So far, we only ever asked whether stdout wants to be colorful. In the
upcoming patches, we will want to make push errors more prominent, which
are printed to stderr, though.

So let's refactor the want_color() function into a want_color_fd()
function (which expects to be called with fd == 1 or fd == 2 for stdout
and stderr, respectively), and then define the macro `want_color()` to
use the want_color_fd() function.

And then also add a macro `want_color_stderr()`, for convenience and
for documentation.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
color.c
color.h