t/perf: add fallback for pre-bin-wrappers versions of git
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Fri, 3 Mar 2017 07:36:33 +0000 (02:36 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 3 Mar 2017 18:55:27 +0000 (10:55 -0800)
commit28e1fb54665f6f953ba16f75981195f5aa70f59b
tree4c302e1f4d044f969697501be939606065b446f2
parent83d4a409d370db56b87ce2a2e105f717863878da
t/perf: add fallback for pre-bin-wrappers versions of git

It's tempting to say:

  ./run v1.0.0 HEAD

to see how we've sped up Git over the years. Unfortunately,
this doesn't quite work because versions of Git prior to
v1.7.0 lack bin-wrappers, so our "run" script doesn't
correctly put them in the PATH.

Worse, it means we silently find whatever other "git" is in
the PATH, and produce test results that have no bearing on
what we asked for.

Let's fallback to the main git directory when bin-wrappers
isn't present. Many modern perf scripts won't run with such
an antique version of Git, of course, but at least those
failures are detected and reported (and you're free to write
a limited perf script that works across many versions).

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/perf/run