credential: let empty credential specs reset helper list
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Fri, 26 Feb 2016 10:51:35 +0000 (05:51 -0500)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 26 Feb 2016 18:58:14 +0000 (10:58 -0800)
commit24321375cda79f141be72d1a842e930df6f41725
treecd0e5845a6fba7b3cc32c81d82b75c96643a3a7b
parent56f37fda511e1615dc6df86c68f3b841711a7828
credential: let empty credential specs reset helper list

Sine the credential.helper key is a multi-valued config
list, there's no way to "unset" a helper once it's been set.
So if your system /etc/gitconfig sets one, you can never
avoid running it, but only add your own helpers on top.

Since an empty value for credential.helper is nonsensical
(it would just try to run "git-credential-"), we can assume
nobody is using it. Let's define it to reset the helper
list, letting you override lower-priority instances which
have come before.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/config.txt
Documentation/gitcredentials.txt
credential.c
t/t0300-credentials.sh