http: add support for selecting SSL backends at runtime
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Mon, 15 Oct 2018 10:14:43 +0000 (03:14 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 16 Oct 2018 04:24:34 +0000 (13:24 +0900)
commit21084e84a418e0a6c4da72f632c5cd99386bd64b
tree10dec517ec1f28f6a6a989e5822848b0876809be
parentcae598d9980661a978e2df4fb338518f7bf09572
http: add support for selecting SSL backends at runtime

As of version 7.56.0, curl supports being compiled with multiple SSL
backends.

This patch adds the Git side of that feature: by setting http.sslBackend
to "openssl" or "schannel", Git for Windows can now choose the SSL
backend at runtime.

This comes in handy on Windows because Secure Channel ("schannel") is
the native solution, accessing the Windows Credential Store, thereby
allowing for enterprise-wide management of certificates. For historical
reasons, Git for Windows needs to support OpenSSL still, as it has
previously been the only supported SSL backend in Git for Windows for
almost a decade.

The patch has been carried in Git for Windows for over a year, and is
considered mature.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/config.txt
http.c