prio_queue_reverse: don't swap elements with themselves
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Mon, 24 Apr 2017 11:49:20 +0000 (07:49 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Tue, 25 Apr 2017 04:16:44 +0000 (21:16 -0700)
commit1f9e18b77282070e8fef6dbe6983a8c94a3b0efa
treedf955d981f1c7f6b0ef240273fa3e8e1cdf26f2a
parentf0e802ca200b1296495d2ee5c55cd8f8083486bc
prio_queue_reverse: don't swap elements with themselves

Our array-reverse algorithm does the usual "walk from both
ends, swapping elements". We can quit when the two indices
are equal, since:

  1. Swapping an element with itself is a noop.

  2. If i and j are equal, then in the next iteration i is
     guaranteed to be bigge than j, and we will exit the
     loop.

So exiting the loop on equality is slightly more efficient.
And more importantly, the new SWAP() macro does not expect
to handle noop swaps; it will call memcpy() with the same src
and dst pointers in this case. It's unclear whether that
causes a problem on any platforms by violating the
"overlapping memory" constraint of memcpy, but it does cause
valgrind to complain.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
prio-queue.c