merge-options.txt: correct wording of --no-commit option
authorElijah Newren <newren@gmail.com>
Thu, 21 Feb 2019 17:50:29 +0000 (09:50 -0800)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 21 Feb 2019 19:08:23 +0000 (11:08 -0800)
commit1ede45e44b3b3bef8598ca077a60a6483ede99ae
treef06608799c6abb6e249db915384cd6af73a46896
parent0d0ac3826a3bbb9247e39e12623bbcfdd722f24c
merge-options.txt: correct wording of --no-commit option

The former wording implied that --no-commit would always cause the
merge operation to "pause" and allow the user to make further changes
and/or provide a special commit message for the merge commit.  This
is not the case for fast-forward merges, as there is no merge commit
to create.  Without a merge commit, there is no place where it makes
sense to "stop the merge and allow the user to tweak changes"; doing
that would require a full rebase of some sort.

Since users may be unaware of whether their branches have diverged or
not, modify the wording to correctly address fast-forward cases as well
and suggest using --no-ff with --no-commit if the point is to ensure
that the merge stops before completing.

Reported-by: Ulrich Windl <Ulrich.Windl@rz.uni-regensburg.de>
Signed-off-by: Elijah Newren <newren@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/merge-options.txt