pkt-line: re-'static'-ify buffer in packet_write_fmt_1()
authorMartin Ågren <martin.agren@gmail.com>
Sun, 27 Aug 2017 07:37:32 +0000 (09:37 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 6 Sep 2017 04:11:14 +0000 (13:11 +0900)
commit150efef1e7252452fb5910adfb9b1e57270c3c15
treed86efbf32312fed1ebafb97a309f0a7fae7d6eb4
parent7eeda8b8214bfd171f9ed1265ecc5bfa1d06c607
pkt-line: re-'static'-ify buffer in packet_write_fmt_1()

The static-ness was silently dropped in commit 70428d1a5 ("pkt-line: add
packet_write_fmt_gently()", 2016-10-16). As a result, for each call to
packet_write_fmt_1, we allocate and leak a buffer.

We could keep the strbuf non-static and instead make sure we always
release it before returning (but not before we die, so that we don't
touch errno). That would also prepare us for threaded use. But until
that needs to happen, let's just restore the static-ness so that we get
back to a situation where we (eventually) do not continuosly keep
allocating memory.

Signed-off-by: Martin Ågren <martin.agren@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
pkt-line.c