format-patch: teach format.notes config option
authorDenton Liu <liu.denton@gmail.com>
Thu, 16 May 2019 23:14:14 +0000 (19:14 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 17 May 2019 03:51:53 +0000 (12:51 +0900)
commit13cdf78094a5ba2968adb90707d27b98f53db1f7
tree5660a5b958ffa2b15e75b1170840f22271540c79
parent83d9db7893e479a836b11e141c1717f0d5b829a0
format-patch: teach format.notes config option

In git-format-patch, notes can be appended with the `--notes` option.
However, this must be specified by the user on an
invocation-by-invocation basis. If a user is not careful, it's possible
that they may forget to include it and generate a patch series without
notes.

Teach git-format-patch the `format.notes` config option. Its value is a
notes ref that will be automatically appended. The special value of
"standard" can be used to specify the standard notes. This option is
overridable with the `--no-notes` option in case a user wishes not to
append notes.

Signed-off-by: Denton Liu <liu.denton@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/config/format.txt
Documentation/git-format-patch.txt
builtin/log.c
t/t4014-format-patch.sh