introduce GIT_INDEX_VERSION environment variable
authorThomas Gummerer <t.gummerer@gmail.com>
Sun, 23 Feb 2014 20:49:57 +0000 (21:49 +0100)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 24 Feb 2014 17:48:40 +0000 (09:48 -0800)
commit136347d718320c56030e3b7a3437259e99c4c41b
tree269f8c0287bef262d7751e0913dfaedadf9b6e34
parent5f95c9f850b19b368c43ae399cc831b17a26a5ac
introduce GIT_INDEX_VERSION environment variable

Respect a GIT_INDEX_VERSION environment variable, when a new index is
initialized.  Setting the environment variable will not cause existing
index files to be converted to another format, but will only affect
newly written index files.  This can be used to initialize repositories
with index-v4.

Helped-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gummerer <t.gummerer@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git.txt
read-cache.c
t/t1600-index.sh [new file with mode: 0755]