Remove forward declaration of an enum
authorElijah Newren <newren@gmail.com>
Wed, 15 Aug 2018 17:54:10 +0000 (10:54 -0700)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 15 Aug 2018 18:52:09 +0000 (11:52 -0700)
commit1076f1e454dae338cee8e48f3e69b58181e5e10a
tree0b52cb2a3051019850000e0474055ec2360e1cf0
parentf790d8125279e44d7611f17466b0248fbdea8ed1
Remove forward declaration of an enum

According to http://c-faq.com/null/machexamp.html, sizeof(char*) !=
sizeof(int*) on some platforms.  Since an enum could be a char or int
(or long or...), knowing the size of the enum thus is important to
knowing the size of a pointer to an enum, so we cannot just forward
declare an enum the way we can a struct.  (Also, modern C++ compilers
apparently define forward declarations of an enum to either be useless
because the enum was defined, or require an explicit size specifier, or
be a compilation error.)

Helped-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Elijah Newren <newren@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
packfile.h