reencode_string(): introduce and use same_encoding()
authorJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Fri, 19 Oct 2012 05:41:56 +0000 (22:41 -0700)
committerJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Sun, 4 Nov 2012 13:10:33 +0000 (08:10 -0500)
commit0e18bcd5e937b9e5857892e7f5c80c3c5b1da5d4
tree65ec6c8c507979ede028373a036d21c6c11ce49c
parent7e2010537e96d0a1144520222f20ba1dc3d61441
reencode_string(): introduce and use same_encoding()

Callers of reencode_string() that re-encodes a string from one
encoding to another all used ad-hoc way to bypass the case where the
input and the output encodings are the same.  Some did strcmp(),
some did strcasecmp(), yet some others when converting to UTF-8 used
is_encoding_utf8().

Introduce same_encoding() helper function to make these callers use
the same logic.  Notably, is_encoding_utf8() has a work-around for
common misconfiguration to use "utf8" to name UTF-8 encoding, which
does not match "UTF-8" hence strcasecmp() would not consider the
same.  Make use of it in this helper function.

Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
builtin/mailinfo.c
notes.c
pretty.c
sequencer.c
utf8.c
utf8.h