trace: add trace_performance facility to debug performance issues
authorKarsten Blees <karsten.blees@gmail.com>
Sat, 12 Jul 2014 00:06:28 +0000 (02:06 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 14 Jul 2014 04:25:20 +0000 (21:25 -0700)
commit09b2c1c769a69d3ff03ee7913fa50fa05b4f5a46
treeb7b58e6f14c3b945ba3735b2cea9590009bff0fe
parent148d6771bf5e00aa1d7fa2221507a3dfe4c1e37f
trace: add trace_performance facility to debug performance issues

Add trace_performance and trace_performance_since macros that print a
duration and an optional printf-formatted text to the file specified in
environment variable GIT_TRACE_PERFORMANCE.

These macros, in conjunction with getnanotime(), are intended to simplify
performance measurements from within the application (i.e. profiling via
manual instrumentation, rather than using an external profiling tool).

Unless enabled via GIT_TRACE_PERFORMANCE, these macros have no noticeable
impact on performance, so that test code for well known time killers may
be shipped in release builds. Alternatively, a developer could provide an
additional performance patch (not meant for master) that allows reviewers
to reproduce performance tests more easily, e.g. on other platforms or
using their own repositories.

Usage examples:

Simple use case (measure one code section):

  uint64_t start = getnanotime();
  /* code section to measure */
  trace_performance_since(start, "foobar");

Complex use case (measure repetitive code sections):

  uint64_t t = 0;
  for (;;) {
    /* ignore */
    t -= getnanotime();
    /* code section to measure */
    t += getnanotime();
    /* ignore */
  }
  trace_performance(t, "frotz");

Signed-off-by: Karsten Blees <blees@dcon.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
trace.c
trace.h