remote: deprecate --mirror
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Wed, 30 Mar 2011 19:53:39 +0000 (15:53 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 30 Mar 2011 20:47:54 +0000 (13:47 -0700)
commit099024861021830f9d4c7db4c64c844bf9d5ebd9
tree68450eef9548d03599cb3e0a4d416a9965fa46f8
parenta9f5a3558dcf83440c60ae5a2e2b56c80d65bb0b
remote: deprecate --mirror

The configuration created by plain --mirror is dangerous and
useless, and we now have --mirror=fetch and --mirror=push to
replace it. Let's warn the user.

One alternative to this is to try to guess which type the
user wants. In a non-bare repository, a fetch mirror doesn't
make much sense, since it would overwrite local commits. But
in a bare repository, you might use either type, or even
both (e.g., if you are acting as an intermediate drop-point
across two disconnected networks).

So rather than try for complex heuristics, let's keep it
simple. The user knows what they're trying to do, so let
them tell us.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-remote.txt
builtin/remote.c