Make error message after failing commit_lock_file() less confusing
authorSZEDER Gábor <szeder@ira.uka.de>
Mon, 30 Nov 2015 11:40:53 +0000 (12:40 +0100)
committerJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 1 Dec 2015 23:17:23 +0000 (18:17 -0500)
commit08a3651fe7f3163acbac461e0daf370329a1d332
treeba2b115940bd2fa7199e6482426a823386c49fe0
parent908a6e4156dff47d4877478383fd4b79592010e2
Make error message after failing commit_lock_file() less confusing

The error message after a failing commit_lock_file() call sometimes
looks like this, causing confusion:

  $ git remote add remote git@server.com/repo.git
  error: could not commit config file .git/config
  # Huh?!
  # I didn't want to commit anything, especially not my config file!

While in the narrow context of the lockfile module using the verb
'commit' in the error message makes perfect sense, in the broader
context of git the word 'commit' already has a very specific meaning,
hence the confusion.

Reword these error messages to say "could not write" instead of "could
not commit".

While at it, include strerror in the error messages after writing the
config file or the credential store fails to provide some information
about the cause of the failure, and update the style of the error
message after writing the reflog fails to match surrounding error
messages (i.e. no '' around the pathname and no () around the error
description).

Signed-off-by: SZEDER Gábor <szeder@ira.uka.de>
Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
config.c
credential-store.c
fast-import.c
refs.c