strbuf: create strbuf_humanise_bytes() to show byte sizes
authorAntoine Pelisse <apelisse@gmail.com>
Wed, 10 Apr 2013 19:03:23 +0000 (21:03 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Wed, 10 Apr 2013 19:58:33 +0000 (12:58 -0700)
commit079b546a2940a84989893254a318c8414e13a13e
tree5f8cc69cbfa12a63cf23b6dfdd75f92eefb4b9ef
parentfa7285dc3dce8bd01fd8c665b032603ed55348e5
strbuf: create strbuf_humanise_bytes() to show byte sizes

Humanization of downloaded size is done in the same function as text
formatting in 'process.c'. The code cannot be reused easily elsewhere.

Separate text formatting from size simplification and make the
function public in strbuf so that it can easily be used by other
callers.

We now can use strbuf_humanise_bytes() for both downloaded size and
download speed calculation. One of the drawbacks is that speed will
now look like this when download is stalled: "0 bytes/s" instead of
"0 KiB/s".

Signed-off-by: Antoine Pelisse <apelisse@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/technical/api-strbuf.txt
progress.c
strbuf.c
strbuf.h