log: add "log.follow" configuration variable
authorDavid Turner <dturner@twopensource.com>
Wed, 8 Jul 2015 01:29:34 +0000 (21:29 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 9 Jul 2015 17:24:23 +0000 (10:24 -0700)
commit076c98372e7d3c86d269c1526349a67b73904330
tree999e92b02a98156cc486a948d43edce28b106aa8
parent5bdb7a78adf2a2656a1915e6fa656aecb45c1fc3
log: add "log.follow" configuration variable

People who work on projects with mostly linear history with frequent
whole file renames may want to always use "git log --follow" when
inspecting the life of the content that live in a single path.

Teach the command to behave as if "--follow" was given from the
command line when log.follow configuration variable is set *and*
there is one (and only one) path on the command line.

Signed-off-by: David Turner <dturner@twopensource.com>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/git-log.txt
builtin/log.c
diff.c
diff.h
t/t4202-log.sh