introduce "preciousObjects" repository extension
authorJeff King <peff@peff.net>
Tue, 23 Jun 2015 10:54:11 +0000 (06:54 -0400)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 25 Jun 2015 00:09:35 +0000 (17:09 -0700)
commit067fbd4105c5aa8260a73cc6961854be0e93fa03
tree302bb72cb8414580c24bd4d896bc4879e31b8a66
parent00a09d57eb8a041e6a6b0470c53533719c049bab
introduce "preciousObjects" repository extension

If this extension is used in a repository, then no
operations should run which may drop objects from the object
storage. This can be useful if you are sharing that storage
with other repositories whose refs you cannot see.

For instance, if you do:

  $ git clone -s parent child
  $ git -C parent config extensions.preciousObjects true
  $ git -C parent config core.repositoryformatversion 1

you now have additional safety when running git in the
parent repository. Prunes and repacks will bail with an
error, and `git gc` will skip those operations (it will
continue to pack refs and do other non-object operations).
Older versions of git, when run in the repository, will
fail on every operation.

Note that we do not set the preciousObjects extension by
default when doing a "clone -s", as doing so breaks
backwards compatibility. It is a decision the user should
make explicitly.

Signed-off-by: Jeff King <peff@peff.net>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Documentation/technical/repository-version.txt
builtin/gc.c
builtin/prune.c
builtin/repack.c
cache.h
environment.c
setup.c
t/t1302-repo-version.sh