diff: fix a double off-by-one with --ignore-space-at-eol
authorJohannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Sat, 9 Jul 2016 07:23:55 +0000 (09:23 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Mon, 11 Jul 2016 18:55:53 +0000 (11:55 -0700)
commit044fb190f75cdec35e56bde30ec214ab144311d9
treed49335dcfdbe0f83c3c5558eb3bc8b26c2770ffd
parenta5229cc95103fab9449bf198a8a119482a8f0845
diff: fix a double off-by-one with --ignore-space-at-eol

When comparing two lines, ignoring any whitespace at the end, we first
try to match as many bytes as possible and break out of the loop only
upon mismatch, to let the remainder be handled by the code shared with
the other whitespace-ignoring code paths.

When comparing the bytes, however, we incremented the counters always,
even if the bytes did not match. And because we fall through to  the
space-at-eol handling at that point, it is as if that mismatch never
happened.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Schindelin <johannes.schindelin@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
t/t4033-diff-patience.sh
xdiff/xpatience.c
xdiff/xutils.c