lockfile: allow file locking to be retried with a timeout
authorMichael Haggerty <mhagger@alum.mit.edu>
Mon, 11 May 2015 10:35:25 +0000 (12:35 +0200)
committerJunio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Thu, 14 May 2015 21:51:08 +0000 (14:51 -0700)
commit044b6a9efecf9941073b99ced4cb2881b18aee62
tree5cfbf39335b835c77d09d94250c2e4aaa8c2897a
parent1ea28e149403ba92f95205f324cc3119fb92df07
lockfile: allow file locking to be retried with a timeout

Currently, there is only one attempt to lock a file. If it fails, the
whole operation fails.

But it might sometimes be advantageous to try acquiring a file lock a
few times before giving up. So add a new function,
hold_lock_file_for_update_timeout(), that allows a timeout to be
specified. Make hold_lock_file_for_update() a thin wrapper around the
new function.

If timeout_ms is positive, then retry for at least that many
milliseconds to acquire the lock. On each failed attempt, use select()
to wait for a backoff time that increases quadratically (capped at 1
second) and has a random component to prevent two processes from
getting synchronized. If timeout_ms is negative, retry indefinitely.

In a moment we will switch to using the new function when locking
packed-refs.

Signed-off-by: Michael Haggerty <mhagger@alum.mit.edu>
Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
lockfile.c
lockfile.h